

Order of proceedings IMO AWARDS CEREMONY

INTRODUCTION

Address by IMO Secretary-General, Mr. Kitack Lim

PRESENTATION CEREMONY

- Presentation of special certificates for significant contribution to the work of the Organization
- ★ Presentation of the 2017 International Maritime Prize
- * Special mention to the recipients of Special recognition for merchant vessels and their crew involved in the rescue of mixed migrants at sea
- ★ Special mention to the recipients of Letters of Commendation
- Presentation of Certificates of Commendation
- Presentation of the 2018 IMO Award for Exceptional Bravery at Sea

RECEPTION

The ceremony will be followed by a reception in the Delegates' Lounge, where the winning entry and highly-commended photographs from the 2018 Day of the Seafarer photo competition will be on display

International Maritime Prize



The International Maritime Prize is awarded annually by the IMO Council to the individual or organization judged to have made the most significant contribution to the work and objectives of IMO.

Since the presentation in 1981 of the 1980 International Maritime Prize, 37 distinguished recipients from 21 countries and one organization have received this prestigious award.

Today, the 2017 International Maritime Prize will be presented to Mrs. Birgit Sølling Olsen, who becomes the 38th recipient of the silver dolphin statuette. In addition, this year, for the first time, special certificates for their contribution to the work of the Organization will be awarded to:

- Mr. Richard W.J. Schiferli, Secretary General, Paris Memorandum of Understanding on Port State Control, nominated by Ireland
- The International Tanker Owners Pollution Federation Limited, nominated by New Zealand, the Oil Companies International Marine Forum, the International Salvage Union and the International Petroleum Industry Environment Conservation Association

RECIPIENT OF THE 2017 INTERNATIONAL MARITIME PRIZE



Mrs. Birgit Sølling Olsen

Former Deputy Director-General of the Danish Maritime Authority, nominated by Denmark, the International Chamber of Shipping and the International Group of Protection and Indemnity Associations (P & I Clubs)

IMO Award for Exceptional Bravery at Sea





This annual award provides international recognition for those who, at the risk of losing their own life, perform acts of exceptional bravery, displaying outstanding courage in attempting to save life at sea or in attempting to prevent or mitigate damage to the marine environment.

There are three categories of honour: firstly, the Award itself, for the nominee judged to have performed the most outstanding act of bravery. Secondly, Certificates of Commendation for nominees who have committed acts of extraordinary bravery. And, thirdly, Letters of Commendation for nominees who are judged to deserve some special recognition for their meritorious actions.

The first Award was presented in 2007 and, over the last 11 years, 18 recipients nominated by 13 countries/organizations have been bestowed with the Award medal, more than 50 certificates have been presented and more than 80 letters of commendation have been sent.

RECIPIENT OF THE 2018 IMO AWARD FOR EXCEPTIONAL BRAVERY AT SEA



Mr. Zhong Haifeng

Senior Diver, Engineering Team, Guangzhou Salvage, nominated by China

Certificates of Commendation

- The Master and crew of the M/T Seapower, the Master and crew of the MTM Tortola and the crew of HMS Monmouth's Wildcat helicopter Black Jack from 815 Naval Air Squadron, Royal Navy, jointly nominated by Malta, Singapore and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
- The crews of the rescue helicopters Helimer 202 and Helimer 207, Spanish Maritime Safety Agency, nominated by Spain
- Captain Gaetano Gigliotti and the crew of the M/S Carnival Elation, nominated by the Cruise Lines International Association



In addition, Letters of Commendation have been sent to:

- Mr. Xu Junlin, Mr. Xu Zhentao, Mr. Lu Ping and Mr. Feng Yajun, members
 of the Sanchi Explosion Emergency Dispatch Squad, Shanghai Salvage Bureau,
 nominated by China
- Captain Guo Tianxin, Master of the rescue tugboat Nan Hai Jiu 116, Nan Hai Rescue Bureau, nominated by China
- Captain KE Ashok Kumar and the crew of the M/V Kodithala, nominated by India.
- Captain Mahmoud Baghestani, Master of the oil tanker Stream, nominated by the Islamic Republic of Iran
- Captain Sumant Varma and the crew of the M/V Dubai Knight, nominated by Panama
- Captain Roman Rudenko, Master of the firefighting small craft Chasovoy, Northern Branch of the FSBI (Marine Rescue Service), nominated by the Russian Federation
- Captain Fredrik Krysén and the crew of the M/V Undine, nominated by Sweden and the International Transport Workers' Federation
- Captain Maxim Kireev and Chief Officer Anatoliy Yarovoy of the general cargo ship BBC ASIA, nominated by the International Transport Workers' Federation



INTERNATIONAL MARITIME ORGANIZATION



Photo by Zay Yar Lin, Master, Myanmar

Winner of the IMO Day of the Seafarer photo competition 2018



To view the top 22 competition entries, use your smartphone to scan QR Code



4 Albert Embankment London SE1 7SR United Kingdom

+44 (0)20 7463 4001 @ ero@imo.org

www.imo.org